Spring contacts - small powerhouses with up to 15A

PC & Industry 04/2023
Spring contacts – small powerhouses with up to 15A (.pdf) >>


Spring contacts - high integration density and very small design

Spring contacts have become indispensable in today's electronics. With their high level of integration and very small designs, they facilitate assembly and thus significantly reduce costs. Spring contact probes are the first choice, especially in communication technology, where slim and design-oriented constructions are required. They reduce manual work time and open up new design and arrangement options for industrial designers and engineers.

The spring contacts are used for power and data transmission and can handle currents of up to 15A per pin. They have a high tolerance range and are particularly suitable for contacting uneven surfaces. They have a long service life of at least 10.000 cycles. Contact is made by touching a spring-loaded pin and enables temporary electrical connections between two devices. Unlike other connectors using the stamping process, spring contacts do not require a mold and are manufactured using high-precision lathes, making them relatively inexpensive.

Structure of a spring contact

A contact pin consists of a plunger, a spring and a pin sleeve. As standard, the piston and pin sleeve are made of brass and the springs are made of stainless steel. The plunger and barrel are additionally coated with gold to provide excellent electrical conductivity and a high level of protection against corrosion and oxidation. Other materials such as nickel, palladium-nickel, brass and palladium-cobalt in silver and black are optionally available to meet the requirements of special applications. Partially different coatings of the individual parts are also possible.

Right angle design connector with Super AP coating
space-saving right-angle connector with partial Super-AP coating

special coating

The Super AP coating is of particular interest for wearables. This coating is extremely resistant to electrolytic or galvanic corrosion and has a very low resistance. Compared to conventional gold coatings, the Super AP coating is twice as resistant to salt water, five times more resistant to perspiration and even 30 times more resistant to electrolysis. Electrical contacts are thus effectively protected against corrosion caused by sweat or moisture.

Wearable products such as fitness trackers, smartwatches or heart rate monitors are often used in environments where they come into contact with sweat and moisture. The Super AP coating minimizes corrosion of the electrical contacts and ensures long life and effective functioning of the devices.

Construction of spring contact
Design variants of spring contacts: back drill design, bias design, 4P design with ball, 4P design with cap

Design variants of spring contacts

Spring contacts are available in different lengths from 1mm to 41mm. For smaller constructions, it becomes innovative Back drill design applied to achieve the desired spring force. Here, the spring used is longer than the hollow piston. From a length of 3,5mm this is standard bias design used in which the piston is beveled at an angle of up to 18° at its end. This guarantees 100% contact with the pen sleeve and reduces signal interference from vibration.

For applications with high current carrying capacity and vibration resistance requirements (>3A), the bias design is supplemented by the 4P design added. Here, the piston, the compression spring and the sleeve are supplemented by a stainless steel ball as the fourth component to prevent the compression spring from burning up due to insufficient lateral forces at high currents. Alternatively, a cap can also be used.

This will be the case with high-current applications from 5A 4P design with cap deployed. The sleeve of the piston is additionally reinforced and a special structure inside the spring contact increases the contact area.

The spring force varies between 25 and 400 g depending on the type of spring contact. A minimum spring force of 60 g is recommended for stable signal transmission and 110 g for efficient power transmission. The higher the spring force, the better the piston is pressed against the housing wall and enables a stable current flow. The standard operating temperature of the spring contacts is -40° to +85°. If special materials are used, the range of application can be extended to up to 150°C in the long term.

Rolling head, spring contact with ball tip
Rolling pins for 360° rotations

Special design variants for individual constructions

The selection of different connection types such as SMD, THT, crimp and solder cups as well as design variants such as the rolling pins or the Screw pin enables a high degree of design freedom in the construction. The solder cup allows, for example, direct cable contacting with spring and mating contacts. In combination with a suitable connector housing, an easy-to-implement, wired, spring-loaded interface solution is possible.

Regular spring contact probes are designed for vertical movement. Spring contacts in the rolling pin design have an integrated ball in the pin tip and allow continuous contact in up to 360° rotations. In order to guarantee 100% contact of the piston with the pin barrel and to significantly reduce transmission disturbances due to vibrations, the rolling pin is constructed on the basis of the bias design. These pins are currently available with a current rating of 1A-6A.

Screw Pin, spring contact with screw thread
Screw Pin, spring contact with screw thread

Spring contacts in screw or right angle design: an option for small devices

If devices require contacting in a very small space, spring contacts in screw or right angle design are an option. Spring contacts in screw design have an integrated screw thread and can be screwed into a printed circuit board to save space. Right angle contacts on the other hand, are placed directly flush on the printed circuit board. Double ended spring contacts are another design option and offer a spring loaded contact at both ends. They can be used to create temporary or permanent connections between two circuit boards. Since there is only one sleeve, the material and weight are also reduced.

Connectors based on spring contacts: easy to implement

The realization of plugs based on spring contacts is very simple. Several spring contact probes can be combined in a plastic housing to form a spring contact connector. These connectors can be customized in terms of pitch, pin count and housing dimensions. There is no maximum number of spring contact pins in a connector, so multi-row solutions are also possible, especially when high currents are to be transmitted. The minimum pin spacing varies depending on the size and rating of the spring contact probe. A possible pin distance (pitch) is 2,54 mm. Due to the large number of spring contacts, particularly small connectors, waterproof solutions up to IP68, special solutions for high-current applications and magnetic connectors can also be implemented.

Spring contact based connector Spring contact based connector

Magnetic plugs

In contrast to conventional plug-in systems, which require a certain insertion depth for optimal locking magnetic connector system based on spring contacts with a very flat and planar design. The implementation of magnets ensures a self-guiding, as well as shock and vibration resistant connection between connector and device. This makes it very easy and convenient to use, especially in difficult or small installation situations.

The polarity of the magnets prevents incorrect connection, which ensures high contact and functional reliability. In addition, the magnetic force can be adjusted to the respective requirement through different compositions and the limit values ​​of sensitive devices, especially in medical technology, can be sufficiently taken into account. In contrast to conventional plugs, the stress during contact and the associated wear on the socket with magnetic plugs is minimal. An installation depth of just a few millimeters is sufficient for reliable contacting. Sealing with elastomer materials or the direct overmoulding of the plug with plastic ensure a system that can be cleaned and disinfected very well. Even protection classes up to IP68 for immersion disinfection are possible.

Another advantage of direct implementation or overmoulded system solutions is that assembly times and costs can be significantly reduced. The risk of moisture and dirt penetrating the interior of the device is also virtually eliminated. Prototypes of an individual magnetic plug can be realized quite easily using 3D printing and manual further processing for the first installation tests and testing of the magnetic force.

Magnetic connector with spring contacts
Custom magnetic connector with spring contacts

 

Design and production from a single source

Our product design experts are your partner for tailor-made magnetic connectors. We offer a comprehensive design and development of individual connectors from a single source. We will be happy to advise you on the selection of the optimal materials and support you with our experience.

In our Spring contact product range we have a wide range of over 300 different standard pins that we can select to suit your application and build into bespoke connectors. We also offer customization of the spring contacts to ensure they perfectly match your specific needs.

Almost all spring contacts can be supplied with a cap for automated circuit board assembly. This enables faster assembly and easier handling. We ensure that the quality and performance of our connectors meet the highest standards and meet the needs of our customers.

Contact N&H Technology >>

Federkontakte – kleine Kraftpakete mit bis zu 15A

PC & Industrie 04/2023
Federkontakte – kleine Kraftpakete mit bis zu 15A (.pdf) >>


Federkontakte – hohen Integrationsdichte und sehr kleine Bauweise

Federkontakte sind in der heutigen Elektronik nicht mehr wegzudenken. Mit ihrer hohen Integrationsdichte und sehr kleinen Bauweisen erleichtern sie die Montage und senken dadurch erheblich die Kosten. Besonders in der Kommunikationstechnik, wo schlanke und designorientierte Bauweisen gefragt sind, sind Federkontaktstifte die erste Wahl. Sie reduzieren die manuelle Arbeitszeit und eröffnen Industriedesignern und Ingenieuren neue Gestaltungs- und Anordnungsmöglichkeiten.

Die Federkontakte werden zur Strom- und Datenübertragung eingesetzt und können Stromstärken von bis zu 15A pro Pin bewältigen. Sie haben einen hohen Toleranzbereich und eignen sich besonders für die Kontaktierung von unebenen Oberflächen. Dabei haben sie eine lange Lebensdauer von mindestens 10.000 Zyklen. Die Kontaktierung erfolgt durch Antastung eines federunterstützten Stiftes und ermöglicht temporäre elektrische Verbindungen zwischen zwei Geräten. Im Gegensatz zu anderen Steckverbindern im Stanzverfahren benötigen Federkontakte keine Form und werden mit hochpräzisen Drehmaschinen hergestellt, was sie relativ kostengünstig macht.

Aufbau eines Federkontaktes

Ein Kontaktstift besteht aus einem Kolben, einer Feder und einer Stifthülse. Standardmäßig sind Kolben und Stifthülse aus Messing und die Federn aus Edelstahl gefertigt. Kolben und Stifthülse werden zusätzlich mit Gold beschichtet, um eine exzellente elektrische Leitfähigkeit sowie einen hohen Schutz vor Korrosion und Oxidation zu bieten. Optional stehen weitere Materialien wie Nickel, Palladium-Nickel, Messing und Palladium Cobalt in silber und schwarz zur Auswahl, um die Anforderungen spezieller Applikationen zu erfüllen. Dabei sind auch partiell unterschiedliche Beschichtungen der einzelnen Teile möglich.

Right Angle Design Stecker mit Super AP Beschichtung
platzsparender Right-Angle Konnektor mit partieller Super-AP Beschichtung

Sonderbeschichtung

Besonders für Wearables ist die Super AP Beschichtung von großem Interesse. Diese Beschichtung ist äußerst widerstandsfähig gegen elektrolytische bzw. galvanische Korrosion und weist einen sehr geringen Widerstand auf. Im Vergleich zu herkömmlichen Goldbeschichtungen ist die Super AP Beschichtung doppelt so widerstandsfähig gegen Salzwasser, fünfmal resistenter gegen Transpiration und sogar um den Faktor 30 widerstandsfähiger gegen Elektrolyse. Elektrische Kontakte werden somit effektiv vor Korrosion durch Schweiß oder Feuchtigkeit geschützt.

Wearable-Produkte, wie Fitness-Tracker, Smartwatches oder Herzfrequenzmesser, werden oft in Umgebungen verwendet, in denen sie mit Schweiß und Feuchtigkeit in Berührung kommen. Die Super AP Beschichtung minimiert die Korrosion der elektrischen Kontakte und sorgt für eine lange Lebensdauer und eine effektive Funktionsweise der Geräte.

Aufbau Federkontakt
Design Varianten von Federkontakten: Back Drill Design, Bias Design, 4P Design mit Ball, 4P Design mit Cap

Designvarianten von Federkontakten

Federkontakte gibt es in verschiedenen Längen von 1mm bis 41mm. Bei kleineren Bauweisen wird das innovative Back Drill Design angewendet, um die gewünschte Federkraft zu erreichen. Hierbei ist die eingesetzte Feder länger als der hohle Kolben. Ab einer Länge von 3,5mm wird standardmäßig das Bias Design angewendet, bei dem der Kolben an seinem Ende in einem Winkel von bis zu 18° angeschrägt wird. Dies garantiert einen 100%igen Kontakt mit der Stifthülse und reduziert Signalstörungen durch Vibrationen.

Für Anwendungen mit hohen Anforderungen an die Stromtragfähigkeit und Vibrationsbeständigkeit (>3A) wird das Bias Design um das 4P-Design ergänzt. Hierbei wird der Kolben, die Druckfeder und die Hülse um einen Edelstahlball als vierte Komponente ergänzt, um das Verglühen der Druckfeder durch zu geringe Lateralkräfte bei hohen Strömen zu verhindern. Alternativ kann auch eine Kappe eingesetzt werden.

Bei Hochstrom-Anwendungen ab 5A wird das 4P-Design mit Kappe eingesetzt. Hierbei wird die Hülle des Kolbens zusätzlich verstärkt und eine spezielle Struktur im Inneren des Federkontakts erhöht den Kontaktbereich.

Die Federkraft variiert je nach Federkontakttyp zwischen 25 und 400 g. Für eine stabile Signalübertragung wird eine Mindest-Federkraft von 60 g, für eine effiziente Stromübertragung von 110 g empfohlen. Je höher die Federkraft, desto besser wird der Kolben gegen die Gehäusewand gedrückt und ermöglicht einen stabilen Stromfluss. Die Standardbetriebstemperatur der Federkontakte liegt bei -40° bis +85°. Bei Verwendung spezieller Werkstoffe kann der Einsatzbereich langfristig auf bis zu 150°C erweitert werden.

Rolling Head, Federkontakt mit Ball Spitze
Rolling Pins für 360° Rotationen

Spezielle Designvarianten für individuelle Konstruktionen

Die Auswahl an verschiedenen Anschlussarten wie SMD, THT, Crimp- und Lötkelch sowie Designvarianten wie dem Rolling Pin oder dem Screw Pin ermöglicht eine hohe Gestaltungsfreiheit bei der Konstruktion. Der Lötkelch erlaubt beispielsweise eine direkte Kabelkontaktierung mit Feder- und Gegenkontaktierung. In Kombination mit einem passenden Steckgehäuse ist eine einfach zu realisierende, verdrahtete, federbelastete Schnittstellenlösung möglich.

Reguläre Federkontaktstifte sind für vertikale Bewegungen ausgelegt. Federkontakte im Rolling-Pin Design haben eine integrierte Kugel in der Pin-Spitze und ermöglichen fortwährende Kontaktierung in bis zu 360° Drehungen. Um einen 100% Kontakt des Kolbens mit der Stifthülse zu garantieren und Übertragungsstörungen aufgrund von Vibrationen signifikant zu reduzieren, ist der Rolling-Pin auf Basis des Bias-Designs konstruiert. Diese Pins sind derzeit mit einem Nennstrom von 1A-6A erhältlich.

Screw Pin, Federkontakt mit Schraubgewinde
Screw Pin, Federkontakt mit Schraubgewinde

Federkontakte im Screw- oder Right Angle Design: eine Option für kleine Geräte

Wenn Geräte eine Kontaktierung auf sehr kleinem Raum erfordern, sind Federkontakte im Screw- oder Right Angle Design eine Option. Federkontakte im Screw Design haben ein integriertes Schraubgewinde und können platzsparend in eine Leiterplatte geschraubt werden. Right Angle Kontakte hingegen werden direkt bündig auf die Leiterplatte gesetzt. Double-Ended Federkontakte sind eine weitere Designoption und bieten an beiden Enden einen federbelasteten Kontakt. Mit ihnen können temporäre oder dauerhafte Verbindungen zwischen zwei Leiterplatten hergestellt werden. Da es nur eine Hülse gibt, wird zudem das Material und das Gewicht reduziert.

Stecker auf Federkontaktbasis: einfach zu realisieren

Die Realisierung von Steckern auf Federkontaktbasis ist sehr einfach. Mehrere Federkontaktstifte können in einem Kunststoffgehäuse zu einem Federkontakt-Konnektor zusammengefügt werden. Diese Steckverbinder können kundenspezifisch in Bezug auf Rastermaß, Pin-Anzahl und Gehäuseabmessung angepasst werden. Es gibt keine maximale Anzahl von Federkontaktstiften in einem Steckverbinder, so dass auch mehrreihige Lösungen möglich sind, insbesondere wenn hohe Ströme übertragen werden sollen. Der Mindest-Pinabstand variiert je nach Größe und Leistung des Federkontaktstifts. Ein möglicher Pinabstand (Pitch) liegt bei 2,54 mm. Aufgrund der Vielzahl an Federkontakten können auch besonders kleine Steckverbinder, wasserdichte Lösungen bis IP68, spezielle Lösungen für Hochstrom Anwendungen und magnetische Steckverbinder realisiert werden.

Stecker auf Federkontaktbasis Stecker auf Federkontaktbasis

Magnetische Stecker

Im Gegensatz zu herkömmlichen Stecksystemen, die für eine optimale Verrieglung eine gewisse Einstecktiefe benötigen, können magnetische Stecksystem auf Basis von Federkontakten mit einem sehr flachen und planen Design umgesetzt werden. Die Implementierung von Magneten sorgt für eine selbstführende, sowie schock- und vibrationsbeständige Verbindung von Stecker und Gerät. Dies macht die Anwendung sehr einfach und komfortabel, gerade bei schwierigen oder kleinen Einbausituationen.

Durch die Polung der Magnetewird ein falsches Anschließen ausgeschlossen, was eine hohe Kontakt- und Funktionssicherheit gewährleistet. Zudem kann die Magnetkraft durch verschiedene Zusammensetzungen an die jeweilige Anforderung eingestellt und die Grenzwerte empfindlicher Geräte, gerade in der Medizintechnik, ausreichend berücksichtig werden. Im Gegensatz zu herkömmlichen Steckern, ist die Beanspruchung beim Kontaktieren und der damit einhergehende Verschleiß der Buchse bei magnetischen Steckern minimal. Für eine sichere Kontaktierung reicht bereits eine Einbautiefe von wenigen Millimetern. Versieglungen mit Elastomer-Materialien oder das direkte umspritzen des Steckers mit Kunststoff, sorgen für ein System, das sehr gut gereinigt und desinfiziert werden kann. Dabei sind sogar Schutzklassen bis IP68 für Tauchdesinfektionen möglich.

Weiterer Vorteil einer direkten Implementierung bzw. umspritzten Systemlösungen ist, dass Montagezeiten und -kosten erheblich verringert werden können. Auch die Gefahr eindringender Feuchtigkeit und Schmutz ins Innere des Gerätes wird nahezu eliminiert. Prototypen eines individuelle Magnetsteckers können Mittels 3D-Druck und manueller Weiterverarbeitung recht einfach für erste Verbauproben und dem testen der Magnetkraft realisiert werden.

Magnetstecker mit Federkontakten
Kundenspezifischer Magnetstecker mit Federkontakten

 

Konstruktion und Fertigung aus einer Hand

Unsere Experten im Produktdesign sind Ihr Partner für maßgeschneiderte Magnetstecker. Wir bieten eine umfassende Konstruktion und Entwicklung von individuellen Steckverbindern aus einer Hand. Dabei beraten wir Sie gerne bei der Auswahl der optimalen Materialien und stehen Ihnen mit unserer Erfahrung zur Seite.

In unserem Federkontakt-Produktbereich haben wir eine breite Palette von über 300 verschiedenen Standard-Pins, die wir passend zu Ihrer Anwendung auswählen und in maßgeschneiderten Steckverbindern einbauen können. Wir bieten auch kundenspezifische Anpassungen der Federkontakte an, um sicherzustellen, dass sie perfekt zu Ihren spezifischen Anforderungen passen.

Für die automatisierte Leiterplattenbestückung können nahezu alle Federkontakte mit einer Kappe geliefert werden. Dadurch wird eine schnellere Montage und ein einfacheres Handling ermöglicht. Wir stellen sicher, dass die Qualität und Leistung unserer Steckverbinder höchsten Standards entsprechen und die Bedürfnisse unserer Kunden erfüllen.

Kontakt zu N&H Technology >>